My Miscellanea

posted in: Uncategorized | 3

My family and ancestors have helped shape my identity by, generations ago, immigrating to America and leading me into a life with a wealth of opportunity. Since many people here are not afforded those same opportunities, as a social worker I would like to do what I can to help. What steered me towards an interest in social work is just my love of other people and how much it hurts my heart to see people struggling. 

I will say that I am not fully educated on the extent of a social worker’s duties or everyone they are able to help, but I am in the process of learning more. I do know that social workers I have known have said that they wish there were more people who cared more in the industry, but that they understand why this is difficult to accomplish, with social work being such a potentially physically and emotionally draining profession. 

I have heard throughout my childhood so many complaints about excessive domestic violence and substance abuse in my home state of Alaska. The long dark winters and the correlated seasonal depression along with the large number of people living remotely in the state can create dangerous environments. Growing up watching shows like Alaska State Troopers and just having experiences with people in your own life you learn this.

Most things are politically charged and social work is not an exception. People are always trying to find and implement new and better ways to deal with the world’s problems. One thing that helped to draw me to social work is Freeform’s The Fosters. While The Fosters portrays Hollywood’s glamorized version of the career, it also addresses many social issues that I am passionate about and conveys the characters’ struggle to change them.