Military Social Work

posted in: Uncategorized | 16

A Quick Synopsis of My Service

I served in the U.S. Army for over 16 years, enlisting as a 13R (Field Artillery Radar) in February of 2001. My intentions were to serve a four year contract that would allow me to escape my hometown, travel the world, get access to a college education, and learn a bit about life. I graduated from my Advanced Individual Training (AIT) in August of 2001, and I stepped foot at my first duty assignment, Korea, in the first week of September, 2001. I remember arriving to my unit, at Camp Stanley, on a Friday. My Section Chief, Staff Sergeant Martinez, told me to not go out drinking and to stay on the base that weekend because we had a two week training exercise that started first thing Monday morning. Monday, September 10th came, we convoyed out to our training area and I began my first ever Field Training Exercise (FTX). That first day was a busy day of traveling, setting up tents, OE-254’s (communications antenna), c-wire, conducting guard operations, and much more. Tuesday, September 11th, was much of the same, but with a lot of time spent digging and building defensive positions, and training for combat in chemical protective gear. Being 13 hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time, in a foreign country, in the field away from all TV’s and internet, we did not hear about the attacks on the WTC until September 12th. That was the day that started what would become a 20 year conflict in Afghanistan (OEF), and two years later, in February of 2003, came the initial invasion of Iraq (OIF).